Rachel Brown-Finnis Retires

Rachel Brown-Finnis Retires

Everton and England ladies goalkeeper Rachel Brown-Finnis has announced her retirement from football.  The 34-year-old made her England debut at 16 and featured at two World Cups, four European Championships whilst earning 82 caps, and played as part of Team GB at the 2012 London Olympics.

RBF1

Brown-Finnis, who has been with Everton since 2003 and won the club’s player of the year award, will take up an ambassadorial role at the club, which is new territory, a former player staying on at the club as an ambassador has never been done before,” she added.  Anything I can do, with my experience on and off the pitch, I would just love to give that back to a club that has given me so much.”

rachel-brown-poy (1)

Speaking about her retirement Rachel said, “It is simply down to the amount of pain I suffer with my knee and back over the course of a season, it is emotional for me but I think now is the right time.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

