Steven Caldwell Announces Retirement

Former Clarets Captain Steven Caldwell Retires

Former Bradford City player and Burnley Football Club Wembley-winning captain Steven Caldwell has announced his retirement from professional football at aged of thirty-four.

steven-caldwell-burnley-play-off_3325143

Caldwell who led Burnley to the Premier League in 2009, will now take up a position behind the scenes at MLS franschise and current club Toronto Football Club.

In a statement issued today, Steven Caldwell said, “It is with a heavy heart that I announce my retirement from the game I love, football has been my life since a very young age and I appreciate the opportunity I’ve had to live out my dreams.

StevenCaldwell-TFC-NYRB

I would like to thank all my team-mates and coaches I’ve learnt from along the way, creating friendships and bonds that will last forever.

Newcastle United, Blackpool, Bradford City, Leeds United, Sunderland, Burnley, Wigan Athletic, Birmingham City and Toronto, have been magnificent clubs.

It was an honour to wear your shirt and I hope the fans appreciated the pride I felt in putting on their jersey’s.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

