Marney Extends Clarets Stay

Dean Marney Signs New Deal

Burnley Football Club have today confirmed that midfielder Dean Marney has signed a new two-year deal which will keep him at Turf Moor until the summer of 2017.

Marney who is nearing full fitness after suffering a cruciate knee ligament injury in February is delighted to have sealed a new deal at Turf Moor.

Manchester United's Argentinian midfielder Angel di Maria (R) vies with Burnleys English midfielder Dean Marney (L) during the English Premier League football match between Burnley and Manchester United at Turf Moor in Burnley, north west England on August 30, 2014. AFP PHOTO / IAN MACNICOL..RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE. No use with unauthorized audio, video, data, fixture lists, club/league logos or live services. Online in-match use limited to 45 images, no video emulation. No use in betting, games or single club/league/player publications (Photo credit should read Ian MacNicol/AFP/Getty Images)

Speaking about his new contract Dean Marney said, “I’m over the moon to secure my future for the next couple of years.  I love it here, if it was a five years deal to stay here at the club, then I would have signed that straight away.

I’ve said from day one, it’s a great club and the last few years have been great years for myself personally and for the club, so I obviously just want to be a part of the future and I’m really looking forward to the next two seasons.”

Marney a former Tottenham trainee picked up the injury in the 2-2 draw with West Brom in last season’s Premier League fixture is confident of a return to the team in the not-too-distant future.

article-2574669-1BF0C1C600000578-938_634x444

Speaking about his injury he said, “It’s progressing really well, I’m quite a bit ahead of where I thought I was going to be at this time.  I had a tiny little setback which has maybe added on a week or two, but I’m hopefully playing a game next week and then crack on from there really.

I want to put myself in a position where the gaffer sees me and thinks I am ready to get

back in the side, obviously the lads are doing well at the minute and I know that it’s going to be tough to get back in the side, but I’m working hard.

I think you look at the squad now compared to the squad that went up before, there’s a lot more competition for places now.  Obviously the squad was a lot smaller, you look at the other night and how strong the bench is and there are players to come back to fitness.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

