Burnley Sign Green

Burnley Football Club have this morning confirmed the signing of striker George Green on a six month deal, Green will join up with the Development Squad after scoring a hat-trick in a development friendly against Loughborough University whilst on trial last month.

george Green (1)

The former Everton and Oldham Athletic youngster, is a free agent after voluntarily terminated his contract at Oldham in November, he has been earning £75.00 a week playing for Ossett Albion in Division One of the Evo-Stik Northern Premier League.

Green is no stranger to some of the senior management at Burnley, as CEO David Baldwin held the same post at Bradford City when Green was sold to Everton from Bradford City youth team for £2 million in 2011.

gg

Speaking about signing for the Clarets, George Green said, “I’m delighted to have signed at Burnley and I just can’t wait to get going. The six-month contract is a great platform for me to start from and to knuckle down, work hard and hopefully that can reward me with a long-term future at Burnley.

My aim is to just impress and prove myself to everyone and that’s all down to me now.  I know that won’t come easy, I know the nature of the club is to always work your hardest.

I’ve got Football League experience under my belt already, but I want to play at a higher level than League One and I will do my best to try break through to this first team.

I’m only 20-years of age, so I’m still a young hungry player learning his trade. I still have a lot to learn and I know Burnley is the right club to get the best out of me and fulfil my potential.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

