Peter Swan Interview

Peter Swan Interview

Swan

Peter Swan was born on the 28th September 1966 in Leeds; he began his career with local side Leeds United in 1984, before he moved on to Hull City for £200,000 in 1989.

Two years later he transferred to Port Vale for a fee of £300,000, he spent three years with Port Vale, before he was sold on to Plymouth Argyle for the same price.

During his time at Vale Park he was selected in the PFA’s Second Division team of the season in 1992–93, before he won promotion out of the division in 1993–94; he also won the TNT Tournament in 1992 and the Football League Trophy in 1993 with the club.

Swan then transferred to Plymouth Argyle but he failed to find success at Home Park and returned north to link up with Stan Ternent at Burnley.

After just twelve months, in 1997 he signed for Bury for £50,000, before again joining up with Stan Ternent for the third time as he returned to Burnley as a free transfer.  His final football league York City who he joined in the year 2000 before retiring later that year.

Interview

Who was your biggest influence in football?

My parents have been the biggest influence on my career, fully supporting me from a young child playing football at school, to Yorkshire Amateurs and all the way through to the football league clubs.

What is your best football highlight?

The biggest highlight in my career was having the pleasure of playing at Wembley twice in my career, both in the space of nine days. The first in the Autoglass Trophy Final playing for Port Vale against Stockport County. The second was against West Bromwich Albion in the Division Two Play-Off Final, which we lost 3-0.

What is your football lowlight?

My lowest point came in the Division Two Play-Off Final, when I became only the third Englishman to be sent off at Wembley Stadium; to this day it is one of the biggest regrets of my career.

League Debut?

Billy Bremner gave me my debut for Leeds Utd as a striker on the 14th October 1985, in the Full Members Cup defeat to Manchester City at Maine Road. My first Football League debut was on the 1st January 1986 against Oldham Athletic when I played centre-half alongside Neil Aspin.

Best Goal You Scored?

The best goal I ever scored was a header for Hull City at Boothferry Park against West Ham United.

Toughest Opponent?

The toughest opponent I faced was Billy Whitehurst; his robust style of play let you know you had been in a game. He was considered by many footballers to be the hardest player in the game.

Who is the best manager you have played for and why?

Stan Ternent he was the ‘gaffer’ I had so much respect for him, he signed me three times, once at Hull City and twice for Burnley.

Who was the best player you played with and why?

The best player I ever with was John Sheridan an excellent all round midfielder player and his passing was something special.

In 2000, you appeared on Sky Sports when everyone said they were your best friends in football, how did it start and what impact did it have on you?

It all started on Soccer AM, the guests were asked to name their best friends in football. The first week on the show it was John Beresford and the second Rob Ullathorne both of which are my friends so they said Peter Swan.

The show then ran with the idea and every week for the rest of the season all the guest’s said Peter Swan. It had no real impact on me apart from hearing my name on Soccer AM every week.

Swanny

You released your autobiography, Swanny Confessions of a Lower-League Legend. How well did the book sale and would you consider writing a second book?

To be totally honest I have no idea of how many copies of the book have been sold, but they are still available via Amazon. I don’t see myself, as an author so there will be no second book.

At Port Vale you were voted into the PFA Team of the Year, how does it feel to be voted as one of your division’s top players by your fellow professionals?

I had three excellent seasons at Port Vale, winning the Football League Trophy (Auto Glass Trophy) in the 1992-93 season, and then finishing as Second Division runners-up the following season. However being voted into the PFA Team of the year in 1992-93 season was the best achievement in my career.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

