Clarets Sign Anderlecht’s Defour

Burnley Sign Steven Defour from Anderlecht

Burnley Football Club has this morning confirmed the signing of Belgium international midfielder Steven Defour from RSC Anderlecht for a club-record fee. Defour has agreed a three-year deal and becomes the Clarets’ fourth signing of the summer.

defour

Born in Mechelen, Defour comes with a sizeable pedigree, having been capped 46 times for Belgium and winning the domestic league title twice during his time at Standard Liege.

During his time at Porto, he also won the Portuguese title on two occasions before making the switch back to his homeland with Anderlecht.  However the Belgian midfielder is delighted to have the opportunity to prove himself in the top-flight in English football.

Defour has been a target for Sean Dyche all summer and the deal has taken some time, but Steven is a great player with a depth of international experience.

Speaking about signing for the Clarets Steven Defour said, “I hope I can bring my experience to the team and the club to stay in the Premier League.

I’m looking forward to every game. The atmosphere around the league is fantastic and everyone across the world has seen the Premier League, so I am proud to be a part of that.

It is a new challenge for me, but I like that. When I knew that Burnley was interested, I took some time to look into the club and I saw some interesting stuff.

I also called a friend of mine who plays at Brentford and he told me Burnley was the best team in the Championship and that it would be a really good choice for me.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

