Former Claret Back With the Swans

Brian Flynn Joins Swansea City

Former Burnley midfielder Brian Flynn has rejoined the club he used to manage Swansea City as a club scout.  Flynn will forever be remembered as the man who masterminded the club’s successful push to stay in the Football League back in 2003.

brian-flynn-4x358-3444192_613x460

Now sixty one year’s old he is back on the staff of the Welsh club and hopes to contribute to another successful survival bid. Flynn returns having been part of the scouting team at Everton for two years while Roberto Martinez was in charge at Goodison Park.

The former Welsh international was born in Port Talbot and before joining the Everton he also had a stint at Doncaster Rovers as manager and Director of Football.  Having left the Swans after 18 months as manager back in 2004, he spent eight years in charge of Wales’s youth sides (U21, U19 & U17 levels) during which time a host of future stars graduated to the senior team.

Now back at the club he will work under Swans head of recruitment David Leadbeater and will have responsibility for finding talented youngsters as well as senior players who are ready to go straight into the first team.

flynn

Flynn, who will watch potential targets in Europe as well as the United Kingdom, has long had a reputation as a fine talent spotter and made a number of outstanding signings when he was in charge at the Vetch Field.  He was responsible for bringing the likes of Martinez, Lee Trundle, Alan Tate, Leon Britton and Andy Robinson to Swansea City and every one of them arrived on a free transfer.

Speaking about re-joining the club Brian Flynn said, “I am excited to be back and I am looking forward to trying to do my bit to make sure we maintain our Premier League status. If I can play a small part in keeping us safe, I will be delighted.

I hope that in time, I will be able to play huge part in the club’s success. I am certain that we can get ourselves up the table because there is quality in the squad. We need to add to the squad, I am sure that between us we can achieve our targets for the rest of this season.

I hope to make a difference now by helping the club find players who can come in make an impact at Premier League level.  I believe I can do that because I know what Swansea City want.  I know the way things are done at Swansea City and I know the method and which players will fit in at the club.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

