Gordon Armstrong Interview

 

untitled

Gordon Ian Armstrong was born on the 15th July 1967 in Newcastle, England and started his career with Sunderland as an apprentice before signing for the club on a professional contract in 1985.

Armstrong spent eleven seasons with the Black Cats having two loans spells away from the club in 1995 with Bristol City & Northampton Town; he went on to make 359 appearances, scoring 50 goals for the club.

After leaving Sunderland he went on to sign for Bury Football Club in the summer of 1996, Armstrong spent two seasons at Gigg Lane making 69 appearances, scoring 4 goals for the Shakers.

He then followed Stan Ternent to Turf Moor in the summer of 1998; he spent five seasons at Burnley Football Club making 105 appearances, scoring five goals.

After leaving the Clarets, Armstrong went into non-league football playing for Accrington Stanley in the Conference and then Radcliffe Borough and Stalybridge Celtic.

After hanging up his boots, Gordon has remained in the football industry becoming a licensed football association player agent.

Interview

Biggest influence on your career and why?

I have a few people that influenced my career, first of all Mam and Dad who took me everywhere to the games. Plus my youth team coaches George Herd, Ian Hughes and Frank Burrows all three were excellent coaches.

Your Football Highlight?

I have two football highlights; the first being getting to and playing in the 1992 FA Final against Liverpool at Wembley and the second was beating Newcastle United in the play-off semi final. I’ve also been lucky enough to win promotion five times.

Your Football Lowlight?

My football lowlight came as part of the Sunderland team that finished with the lowest points total in the clubs history, which meant us being relegated to the Third Division for the first time ever in the clubs history.

League Debut?

My league debut was for Sunderland away at West Bromwich Albion in the old First Division. I was 17 years old and we lost the match 1-0.

Toughest Opponent?

Stuart McCall a very good all round player, tough tackling, excellent passing and he could score a goal or two when he got into the box.

Best player you played with & why?

Andy Gray who played for Spurs, I played with him at Bury, he had it all attack, defend, he could make and score goals and he could have played any position on the pitch.

Best Player you played against & why?

Bryan Robson was the best player I played against because he had it all, a true legend of the game great skill, passing, a goal scoring midfielder that captained both his club and country. Plus as a midfielder he was my hero.

Best Manager you played for & why?

I have two really Dennis Smith a great man motivator and Stan Ternent he believed in me at a stage in my career when others didn’t. Plus the team was everything to him.

If you could change one rule in football what would it be?

If I could change one rule it would be the offside laws so that they are much easier for people to understand.

You are now a Football Agent / Intermediary what’s involved?

As a football Intermediary, I have players signed to me who I represent and I also work to try and get some foreign players into English clubs.

In your new role are you managing anyone at the moment that we should look for in the future?

I have a young 23-year-old centre-half playing at Brentford Football Club called John Egan he can go all the way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

