Clarets Sign Ashley Westwood

Burnley Sign Westwood From Aston Villa

Burnley Football Club have this afternoon confirmed the signing of Aston Villa midfielder Ashley Westwood for an undisclosed fee.  Westwood, joins the Clarets on a three and a half year contract, with an option of a further year.

ashley-westwood-burnley-583975

Westwood made 162 appearances for Villa in a four and a half year stay at Villa Park, he also helped the midlands club reach the 2015 FA Cup final against Arsenal.  However after relegation to the Championship last season, Westwood welcomed the chance of a move to Burnley and the chance to revive his Premier League career.

Speaking about his move to Turf Moor Ashley Westwood said, “I’m delighted to be here, it’s happened fast but I’ve been made to feel very welcome and I can’t wait to get going.

It feels like a proper football club and homely and that’s what I like. The manager at Villa said I could speak to Burnley and for me that was perfect, a fresh start because things had got a bit stale at Aston Villa.

I have had some great times at Villa but recently it’s not been too great, I’m now back in the Premier League and I’ve got another chance.  Coming here into a dressing room like this, full of British talent and people who want to do well.

It’s perfect for me and I didn’t have to think about it because it suits me and it suits my family.  Driving up the M6 last night past Crewe, I thought ‘yeah, this is where I want to be and hopefully that shows in my football now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

