Settle v Ribblesdale Wanderers

Settle CC v Ribblesdale Wanderers CC (Ramsbottom Cricket Cup) 

Settle Cricket Club returned to the Marshfield ground to face Ribblesdale Wanderers Cricket Club for a third time in a week, Settle won the first two meetings in the Senior League and an evening 20/20 match last night.


On a sunny afternoon in North Yorkshire it was Ribblesdale Wanderers who won the toss and elected to ball, Settle’s Tom and Will Davidson opened the batting and made a first wicket stand of 56 as Will Davidson went on to top score for Settle with 39 from 25 balls.

The Settle batsman continued to play some excellent shots through the innings with a number of the players going into double figures John Davidson (25), Tom Davidson (20), Tom Strickland (17) and overseas player Kyle Scheepers (15).


The leading wicket taker for the visitors was David Howard with figures of 3 maidens, 5 wickets for 17 runs. Bernard Vorster took 3 wickets for 29 and David Steinson took the final 2 wickets for 24 runs. The visitors managed to ball out the home side for 161 in just 34 overs.


After lunch it was Settle who came out the stronger of the two sides as they took the first 5 wickets for just 42 runs.  It was the middle order for Ribblesdale that slowed the game down as Alistair Marsh and David Howard stayed at the crease for a further 63 balls.

Once Marsh and Howard were dismissed, Ribblesdale Wanderers fell apart and lost the final four weeks for just 2 runs with three of the batsman making ducks.  The leading wicket taker for the home side was Josh Mullinder who took 3 wickets for 19 runs.


Settle Cricket Club will look to continue their excellent form this coming weekend when Earby Cricket Club visit Marshfield on the evening of Friday 9th June for a 20/20 match and Padiham Cricket Club visit on Saturday 10th June 2017 in the Senior League. This morning the draw for the Ramsbottom Cup Quarter Finals took place and will see Settle Cricket Club visit Oswaldtwistle Cricket Club.

Match Details 

Settle Cricket Club – T.Davidson, Strickland, W.Davidson, R.Davidson, Ward, Whyte, J.Davidson, Harrison, Worthington, Mullinder, Scheepers

Ribblesdale Cricket Club – Britcliffe, Marsh, Briggs, Vorster, Farnworth, Spencer, Steinson, Hutchins, Ahmed, Howard, Louw

Umpires – Fred Green, Keith Clayton

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.