Burnley Appoint New U18 Manager

Danny Cadamarteri Appointed U18 Manager

Former England U21 striker Danny Cadamarteri has joined Burnley Football Club as the new U18’s Professional Development Phase Coach, he replaces Michael Duff, who has stepped up after one season of coaching the U18s to become new U23’s head coach.

The former Everton, Bradford City and Huddersfield Town striker had been set to join Huddersfield after leaving a coaching post at Sheffield Wednesday, but has opted instead to fill the vacancy at Turf Moor.

cadamarteri-sheff-wed

Speaking about his appointment Danny Cadamarteri said, “It’s been a whirlwind, I have been at Sheffield Wednesday for four years all the age groups from pre-Academy to the U18s and U23s.  I was due to go into Huddersfield and start working there after leaving Wednesday, it’s my hometown club, I was absolutely delighted that I was going home.

But the opportunity to come here was just too good to turn down and I’ve ended up making probably one of the hardest decisions in my life, in turning down a club I’ve been desperate to work at and come and to take on the challenge at a fantastic club.

For a club that’s elevated from Category 3 to Category 2 status, the facilities are amazing. I have seen some top Category 1 facilities and this is up there with some of them.  It’s an amazing complex and great facility and the club is showing real ambition where it wants to go and where it’s at this moment in time as well.

cadamarteri

I started coaching six years ago while I was playing at Carlisle and I’ve done a little bit at Everton working in the pre-Academy and foundation, just getting some experience. I also did a little bit of coaching at Huddersfield in the Academy, before going into a coaching role at Sheffield Wednesday.

I think the biggest thing for me working here at this level with the U18s is that I’ve been that lad who has gone from that age group to get into the first team.  I’ve enjoyed the highs but I’ve had the lows and I’m in a position to recognise when players might go off the rails or be stepping out of line, but also to nurture the talent in players to get them where they want to be.

I’ve had that transition and the game’s changed a lot since I played but I’ve adapted as a coach to give the kids the best possible opportunity of pushing them onto first team football.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

