Settle Cricket Club v Whalley Cricket Club

Settle Cricket Club v Whalley Cricket Club (Ribblesdale Cricket League)

Having won the Ribblesdale Cricket League Championship for the fourth consecutive season last weekend, Settle Cricket Club returned to action this weekend at Marshfield as they entertained Lancashire rivals Whalley Cricket Club in the Ribblesdale Cricket League.

Whalley Cricket Club won the toss and elected to bat first in soaring temperature which hit a massive twenty-eight degrees. Thomas Cameron and Daniel Curran opened the batting for the visitors with Cameron facing most of the deliveries. Daniel Curran was first to lose his wicket when he was caught behind by Robbie Davidson off the bowling of Eddy Read for seven runs after facing nineteen balls.

Jonny Wardle was next into the crease for the visitors, but the pair only managed to add a further five runs to the total before Thomas Cameron was dismissed caught behind by Robbie Davidson off the bowling of Tom Davidson for twenty-nine runs from thirty-two balls, which included five (4’s). Wardle followed soon after clean bowled by Eddy Read for just two runs off thirteen balls leaving the visitors 47-3.

The visitors now had two new batsman at the crease Abishek Raut and Frankie Jackson was next into bat for the visitors, but they could only add a further eight runs to the total before Frankie Jackson was dismissed for a duck caught behind by Robbie Davidson off the bowling of Eddy Read, which brought Aman Singh to the crease.

Settle Cricket Club were now well on top with both Eddy Read and Ashen Silva causing the batsman trouble with some outstanding deliveries and it wasn’t long before the club pro Ashen Silva took his second wicket of the match trapping Frankie Jackson LBW for a duck.

Richard Palmer then joined Abishek Raut in the middle and the pair started to create a partnership, but despite facing a number balls they only added eleven runs to scoreboard before Raut lost his wicket, after scoring twenty-three runs from thirty-one balls which included three (4’s) before being caught by Dante Niles off the bowling of Ashen Silva.

The visitors, then sent Tompson to join Palmer at the crease and again just as the pair were starting to effect the game and add few runs to the scoreboard, Palmer was caught behind by Robbie Davidson off the bowling of Ashen Silva for just two runs after facing twenty-five balls, leaving the score 81-7.

Simon Davies, then joined Tompson and the pair managed to add a further seventeen runs to the visitors total before Davies was dismissed caught and bowled by Dante Niles for just one run after nine balls. Carruthers then made a quick fire twelve runs from fourteen balls which included two (4’s) before he was caught by Tom Davidson off the bowling of Silva.

The final wicket of the visitors innings was that of top scorer Tompson who made thirty-six runs from just twenty-four runs which included four (4’s) and two (6’s) before being caught by Tom Davidson off the bowling of Dante Niles to leave the visitors all out for 121. There was some outstanding bowling figure for the home side with Ashen Silva taking four wicket for fourteen runs, whilst Eddy Read claimed three wickets for thirty-six runs.

Archie Phillipson and John Davidson opened the batting for the home side and were outstanding at the crease making an opening partnership of ninety runs. Philllipson was clean bowled by an excellent delivery from Simon Davies for thirty-six runs after facing eighty balls which included four (4’s).

Ashen Silva then joined John Davidson in the middle and both batsman finished the innings not out, with John Davidson making fifty-seven runs off eighty-three balls whilst Ashen Silva finished on three runs from thirteen balls as Settle Cricket Club finished the innings on 124-1. winning the game by nine wickets.

After winning the match by nine wickets, the home side didn’t have long before they were back in action as Settle Cricket Club faced Read Cricket Club the following day in the Ramsbottom Cup Final at Marshfield looking to become League & Cup Champions.

Match Details

Settle Cricket Club – W.Davidson, J.Davidson, Hulse, Read, Silva, Niles, H.Snowden, J.Snowden, T.Davidson, Phillipson, R.Davidson

Whalley Cricket Club – Cameron, Curran, Wardle, Raut, Jackson, Singh, Palmer, Tompson, Davies, Carruthers, Keniford

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.